Maryland's child passenger safety laws do not prohibit children from riding in the front seat. The exception is placing a rear-facing child in the front seat with an active air bag. If a driver is unable to turn off an air bag, it is a violation of law (as well as a terrible danger to the baby!) to place a rear-facing child in the front seat.
MD Child Car Seat Requirements. Maryland's child safety seat law requires that all children under 8 years old be secured in a federally approved child safety seat according to the safety seat and vehicle manufacturers' instructions, unless the child is 4 feet, 9 inches or taller. The child restraint must be right for the child's size, age, and weight.
Maryland front seat law only differs from back seat law in one respect; it is a primary offense for an adult to not wear a seatbelt in the front seat, but a secondary offense in the back seat. A Quick Guide to Child Car Seats in Maryland. The type of seat your child requires is linked to his or her height and weight.
Car seat laws and recommendations in dc md va as of august 2018 it is now recommended nationally by the cdc that rear facing child safety seats be at least until age
Maryland Child Passenger Safety Law Effective October 1, 2013 View NEW Car Seat PSA (Sept 15, 2014) About KISS Maryland Laws FAQ Materials Request Form Distribution Agreement for Electronic Factsheets Car Seat Inspections Options for Caregivers Unable to Attend Car Seat Inspection Events Child Passenger Safety Links Contact KISS
Maryland Child Passenger Safety Laws do not prohibit children from sitting in the front seat, except in the case of rear-facing car seats. However, child safety experts strongly recommend that children under the age of 13 sit in the back seat.